Game News

Sega brings us arcade shooter action with After Burner Climax

There are probably plenty of you who are reading this right now that have played the original After Burner game in the arcades from back in the day. Well Sega has decided to randomly release a game today and it is a new addition to the After Burner franchise called After Burner Climax.

After Burner Climax doesn’t stray too far from the original game mechanics. Players will have three fighter jets to choose from: F-14D Super Tomcat by Northrop Grumman, the F-15E Strike Eagle or F/A-18E Super Hornet by Boeing. After picking the plane you want to pilot, you will jump into the cockpit and take control of your plane of choice, hitting the skies and shooting down enemy planes.

Each plane can be personalized a bit by choosing a paint job you like. While the main storyline has 20 stages, there are also secret levels you can find as well. Achievements are also available to earn for those of you who like hunting those down. If things get too rough, there are power-ups you can use to help yourself out.

Lastly, After Burner Climax comes with three different game modes for you to play through. Arcade Mode is pretty much as it sounds, offering up players some ‘EX OPTIONS’ like the ability to unlock the power of your arsenal, other power-ups such as unlimited lives, unlimited continues and auto lock-on. Score Attack is about competing with other players to try and gain top spot on the 60 leaderboard this game has. Climax Mode is a little different where time will slow down and your lock-on cursor will expand.

If you’re up for some pure arcade shooting goodness this afternoon then you might want to check this game out. After Burner Climax is available off of Google Play for $2.99.

Google Play Link: After Burner Climax

Website Referenced: Android Police

Share This

You Might Also Like