King’s Raid – tips and tricks for beginners

King’s Raid is one of the best and most accessible MMOs on the market, but it can still be overwhelming for a newcomer. There are so many currencies, items, and gameplay mechanics to learn. This handy beginner’s guide won’t make you an instant expert, but it should help you to hit the ground running.

Good luck!

Your team

The first thing you need to think about is your team. To ensure that you’re ready for all situations you’ll need to have a healer, a DPS (damage per second) character, a support character, and a tank. You also need to ensure that you have both magical and physical damage characters on your team, because you’ll encounter both kinds of enemy.

Whether you prioritise magic or physical is a matter of personal preference, but everybody should at least be packing a healer, a tank, and a DPS character of some kind. There are seven different classes of hero – Knight, Warrior, Assassin, Wizard, Archer, Priest, Mechanic.

At the beginning of the game you’ll get Cleo, Roi, Kasel, Frey, and Clause for free. They’re all important, but Frey (healer) and Clause (tank) in particular will see you to the end of the game so look after them.

Another approach is to build your team around your favorite weapons. Along with a few free characters you’ll also receive some UWs (unique weapons) to start you off in the first few days of playing. Either way, you shouldn’t solely focus on getting levelled up as quickly as possible. You should pick characters and a general approach that make you happy.

You can change your team later, but ideally you should come up with a setup you like and stick with it. Building up a team over time is better than constantly starting over.


The combat in King’s Raid is mostly automatic. You can choose to wield your skills manually, but there’s no real advantage to doing this over simply tapping the ‘auto’ button and leaving your heroes to do their thing.

But if you do like to take the reins yourself, here’s how it all works. Before heading into battle you can choose who you want at the front, middle, and back – though you can’t move characters from the back, say, such as healers, to the front. Back characters always go at the back, middle in the middle, and so on.

During combat, each of your characters has an energy bar and three skills, which need to recharge between uses. Needless to say, if you’re managing these manually you should save them for bosses and to get yourself out of sticky spots.

Also, don’t neglect your healer’s skills. Keep an eye on your heroes’ life bars, and be ready to send out some healing, buffing, or debuffing goodness whenever necessary.


There are several modes in King’s Raid, but the best way to make progress in the early stages is simply to complete the quests. These are available in the hidden menu on the left of the screen. Just tap on the Quest button, and then shortcut, to be taken to the next task.

During battles you’ll pick up all sorts of loot. Tap on the Inventory icon between rounds to Enhance or Grind this loot to keep your party in tip top shape. Likewise, tap on the Heroes icon to ensure your heroes have the best available items equipped, as well as to Awaken and Transcend them when you reach the right level.

Follow these basic principles and you’ll do just fine in King’s Raid. Here’s a quick overview of the most important terminology to help you on your way.

Levelling up

You level up with EXP, which you gain from battles. Conquest battles give you the most EXP. Levelling up your heroes increases their basic stats and Skill levels.

Awakening and Transcending

After you’ve levelled up your heroes to a certain point you’ll be able to Awaken them, which raises their star level. To Awaken a given hero type you’ll need a specific kind of Fragment, which you find in Dungeons.

Once a hero reaches five stars you can Transcend them, by crafting Essence and Stone of Infinity using Fragments plus the Fragment of Infinity.


All Skills can be enhanced using Skill Books, which you find in the Stockade.


There are several types of Gear – Weapons, Armor, Accessories, Orbs, Artifacts, and Treasures. Heroes can only equip gear at their current Tier, which is a tranche of levels.

Gear comes in six grades, from Common to Legendary, which is only available in Raids or Battles in Chapters 8 and 9. The higher the grade, the stronger the gear. You can equip gear manually or automatically in the Hero window.

Like heroes, Gear can be Awakened and Enhanced using gold.

Unique Weapons

Each hero has a special weapon with powerful attributes that only they can wield. To obtain these unique weapons, use Special Item Summon or Unique Weapon Tickets.

There’s a hell of a lot more to the King’s Raid universe, but we don’t want to overwhelm you at the outset. For more information, check out this handy tier list, and visit the game’s community on Reddit.

Check out the game on Google Play now.

Share This

You Might Also Like