Monster Hunter Now Different Weapons – How to Change Weapons

A Palico from Monster Hunter Now.

I’m just going to say it: it’s really unclear how the weapon system works when you start Monster Hunter Now. We all know from the Monster Hunter Now weapons list that six options are available, so why are you stuck with a sword and shield at the beginning? At no point does Niantic make it clear how to use the Monster Hunter Now different weapons and that’s frustrating for series’ diehards. Fortunately, I’m going to help you figure that out in this guide.

For those unaware, Monster Hunter Now is the latest entry in the series. It’s only available on mobile, and takes developer Niantic’s location-based blueprint from Pok√©mon GO and Pikmin Bloom before it. You explore your real life neighbourhood, hunting down monsters. You then battle them in real time, just like in the main series, and loot them for crafting materials. Then, you craft new gear that lets you take on even more powerful monsters.

You can grab Monster Hunter Now on Google Play. Check out our Monster Hunter Now pre-registration rewards, Monster Hunter Now joystick, and Monster Hunter Now armor sets guides for more information.

Monster Hunter Now Different Weapons

Now, let’s take a look at everything you need to know about how to change to Monster Hunter Now different weapons.

How do I Unlock the Other Weapons?

When you first start playing Monster Hunter Now, you only have Sword and Shield as an option. As you progress, you can unlock new Sword and Shields and upgrade them, but the other weapons don’t make an appearance. Just where are they?

Well, it turns out that you unlock the different weapons as you achieve a higher Hunter Rank. Here’s a breakdown of how to unlock these different weapons:

  • Sword and Shield: Default
  • Great Sword: Hunter Rank 11
  • Bow: Hunter Rank 15
  • Hammer: Hunter Rank 15
  • Light Bowgun: Hunter Rank 15
  • Long Sword: Hunter Rank 15

Why Haven’t I Unlocked the Weapons at Hunter Rank 15?

This is yet another aspect of the Monster Hunter Now different weapons that isn’t clear. Not only do you have to achieve a specific Hunter Rank, but you also have to progress in the story to reach the chapter when you unlock the specific weapon.

For example, I’m Hunter Rank 18 as of the time of writing this article, and I’ve only just unlocked the Great Sword. I should have all of the weapons unlocked at this point, but due to struggling to progress in the story due to a lack of monsters, I’m without them.

Share This

You Might Also Like